Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Philatelic Photograph: University of Ottawa - Ottawa, ON, Canada

Interesting Places I've Photographed
University of Ottawa
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Topic: Philatelic Photographs

GPS: N45° 25.482; W075° 41.165

Quick Description: 

The University of Ottawa is located at 75 Laurier Avenue East, Ottawa, ON, Canada.

Long Description:

The University of Ottawa was founded as the College of Bytown in 1848 by Monsignor Joseph-Eugene Guigues of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate religious order. With 40,000 students, faculty and staff from more than 150 countries, it is the first and largest bilingual university in North America.

In 1856 the college moved from Lower Town to its current location. In 1861 it changed its name to the University of Ottawa and received a Royal charter in 1866. In 1919 it became a co-educational institution. In 1965 it became a publicly funded public University.

The stamp shows a view of Tabaret Hall, the central administration building, located at 550 Cumberland Street. The main building was designed by architect, A. O. Von Herbulis in the Classic style. It was erected in 1905, additional wings were added in 1914, 1922 and 1931.

The building was named, in 1971, in honor of Father Joseph-Henri Tabaret, who is considered the major developer of the college. Under his leadership Bytown College became an official university.

The stamp was issued by Canada on September 25, 1998 on the 150th anniversary of the founding of the College of Bytown.

No comments:

Post a Comment